Prospective Students | Current Students | Donors & Friends | Workforce & Community Ed | About Us
News 2018

Belmont College Holds Student Awards Banquet

St. Clairsville, OH (May 2, 2018) — Belmont College recently hosted their Annual Student Awards Banquet on Tuesday, April 24 at the Belmont Hills Country Club in St. Clairsville, Ohio. The purpose of this event is to recognize students for academic excellence and student leadership.


“This banquet is always a wonderful time of celebration and recognition at Belmont College,” said Dr. Paul Gasparro, Belmont College President. “The students we are honoring tonight are an important part of our institution’s history and their success at Belmont College is the first step to their many life achievements. They have done an outstanding job and we are very proud of them.”


Bryan Woodford, Director of Critical Care and Cardiac Services, Wheeling Hospital presented the Wheeling Hospital Heart of Nursing Award to student Nicole Ornouski of Hopedale, OH and the Wheeling Hospital Human Touch Award to student Emily Brandon from Beallsville, Ohio; Marianne Clouston, Assistant Professor of Nursing.

More than 45 students received awards for their academic achievements or their contributions to the campus community (see full list below).


The 2018 Academic Excellence Award winners are as follows:


Accounting: Kristina Cologie, Cadiz, Ohio;


Associate of Arts General: Kayla Best, Cadiz, Ohio;


Associate of Science General: Lacey Piatt, Lewisville, Ohio;


Building Preservation & Restoration: Sarah Aly, Denair, California; and Rhonda Harris, New Albany, Ohio;


Business Management & Leadership: Anissa Lattimer, Martins Ferry, Ohio;


Civil Engineering Technology: Samuel Blake, Bellaire, Ohio;


Computerized Legal Office: Kara Baker, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Criminal Justice: Alex Minnich, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Cyber Security & Computer Forensics: Julie Greenwood, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Early Childhood Education: Brianna Greig, Wheeling, West Virginia;


Electronic Media: Jessica David, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Emergency Medical Services: Jeremy Rife, Bellaire, Ohio;


Energy & Natural Resources: Katie Moore, Rayland, Ohio;


Fire Science: Jared Greenwood,  St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning: Dennis Woods, Barnesville, Ohio;


Industrial Electronics: Brandon Carrothers, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Instrumentation and Control: Bradley Schaber, Wheeling, West Virginia;


Legal Office Specialist: Cheryl Harding, Freeport, Ohio;


Library Paraprofessional: Cheryl Harding, Freeport, Ohio;


Medical Assisting: Krysila Baratie, Bellaire, Ohio;


Mental Health Technology: Daniele Thompson, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Networking: Raymond Bruce Mowery II, Wheeling, West Virginia;


Radiology: Caitlyn Berardi, Glen Easton, West Virginia;


Welding: Dusty Butler, Belmont, Ohio;


Elizabeth J. Rubloff Scholarship: Debra Lancaster, Moundsville, West Virginia and Natori Neff, Bellaire, Ohio;


Gust Maistros Memorial Scholarship: – Linda Wisvari, Clarington, Ohio and Wendy Brown, Rayland, Ohio;


Kim Taylor-Memorial Scholarship: Robert “Joe” Ribar Jr., Steubenville, Ohio and Autumn Valenti, Shadyside, Ohio;


Wheeling Hospital Heart of Nursing Award: Nicole Ornouski, Hopedale, Ohio;


Wheeling Hospital Human Touch Award: Emily Brandon, Beallsville, Ohio and Christine Younger, Moundsville, West Virginia.


Additionally, Leadership Awards were presented to the following students:


Barnesvile: Alexis Marovich;


Beallsville: Sandy Henthorn;


Bellaire: Anthony Piper;


Belmont: Katie Frazier;


Benwood: Joseph Neilson;


Bethesda: Rona  Miller;


Bridgeport: Ashley Burch;


Flushing: Joseph Senakievich;


Glen Dale: Ed Sherman;


Martins Ferry: Alicia Burch;


Morristown: Angela Meese;


Powhatan Point: Erin Lance;


Shadyside: Kaysha Butler;


St. Clarsivlle: Kara Baker ; Thomas Gannoe; Matt Gress; Alex Minnich; John Nice Jr.;

Wheeling: Matthew Blust; and Tiannah Burch.


# # # #