Prospective Students | Current Students | Donors & Friends | Workforce & Community Ed | About Us
News 2019

Belmont College Holds Student Awards Banquet

St. Clairsville, OH (April 12, 2019) — Belmont College recently hosted their Annual Student Awards Banquet on Thursday, April 11 at the Belmont Hills Country Club in St. Clairsville, Ohio. The purpose of this event is to recognize students for academic excellence and student leadership.


Bryan Woodford, Director of Critical Care and Cardiac Services, Wheeling Hospital presented the Wheeling Hospital Human Touch Award to Associate Degree Nursing Student Charlie Scatterday (left) of Powhatan Point, Ohio.

“This banquet is always a wonderful time of celebration and recognition ,” said Dr. Paul Gasparro, Belmont College President. “The students we are honoring tonight are an important part of our institution’s history and their success at Belmont College is the first step to their many life achievements. They have done an outstanding job and we are very proud of them.”


More than 50 students received awards for their academic achievements or their contributions to the campus community (see list below).


The 2019 Academic Excellence Award winners are as follows:


Accounting: Jeremy Milhoan, Jerusalem, Ohio;


All-Ohio Academic Team: Heidi Fitzgerald, Cambridge, Ohio and Jennifer Cunningham, Quaker City, Ohio;


Associate of Arts General: Grace Dean, Bethesda, Ohio;


Associate of Science General: Brady Treherne, Barnesville, Ohio;


Building Preservation & Restoration: Kevin Jones, Wellsburg, West Virginia;


Business Management & Leadership: Alexis Marovich, Barnesville, Ohio;


Civil Engineering Technology: Jacob Mitchell, Dillonvale, Ohio;


Computerized Legal Office: Kara Baker, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Criminal Justice: Natalie Konlanski, Flushing, Ohio;


Cyber Security & Computer Forensics: Joe Smith, Mt. Pleasant, Ohio;


Early Childhood Education: Samantha Finnicum, Adena, Ohio;


Electronic Media: Jessica David, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Emergency Medical Paramedic: Grace Teubert, Marietta, Ohio;


Fire Science: Shane Smolenak, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning: Matt Hawthorne, New Athens, Ohio;


Industrial Electronics: Matthew Cervelli, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Instrumentation and Control: Austin Curry, Belmont, Ohio;


Legal Office Specialist: Camie Shepherd, Moundsville, West Virginia;


Library Paraprofessional: Christopher (C.J.) Barnes, Bowling Green, Ohio;


Medical Assisting: Josie Baker, Freeport, Ohio;


Mental Health Technology: Ed Sherman, Glen Dale, West Virginia;


Networking: Shane Sable, Barnesville, Ohio;


Radiology: Kylie D. Milhoan, Jerusalem, Ohio;


Welding: Luke Matusik, Sardis, Ohio;


Elizabeth J. Rubloff Scholarship: Victoria Clark, St. Clairsville, Ohio and Seonna Kernen, Beallsville, Ohio;


Gust Maistros Memorial Scholarship: Leigh Ann Kahlbaugh, Moundsville, West Virginia and Seonna Kernen, Beallsville, Ohio;


Kim Taylor Memorial Scholarship: Crystal Kinder, Bellaire, Ohio;


Wheeling Hospital Heart of Nursing Award: Kylie Lovinski, St. Clairsville, Ohio;


Wheeling Hospital Human Touch Award Day ADN: Charlie Scatterday, Powhatan Point, Ohio;


Wheeling Hospital Human Touch Award Evening: Minnia Kittel, Cadiz, Ohio.


Additionally, Leadership Awards were presented to the following students:


Barnesville: Tristen Bell; Kevin Bennett; Trenton Groh; Carly West;


Bellaire: Bill Silber;


Belmont: Ashley Stewart;


Benwood: Joseph Neilson;


Bridgeport: Ashley Burch;


Cambridge: Heidi Fitzgerald; Tyler McGee;


Flushing: Natalie Kolanski; Joe Senakievich;


Martins Ferry: Mason Suto;


Moundsville: Camie Shepherd;


Pittsburgh: Philip Aguiar;


Powhatan Point: Erin Lance;


St. Clairsville – Kara Baker;


Wheeling: Molly Holden.


# # # #