Prospective Students | Current Students | Donors & Friends | Workforce & Community Ed | About Us
News 2015

Belmont College Holds Heritage Tree and Emeritus Ceremony

Photo caption (from left to right): Dr. Paul Gasparro, Belmont College President; Cheryl Cassis; Robert “Scat” Scatterday, Associate Professor Emeritus; and Dr. Lorrinda Saxby, Heritage Tree award recipient.

Photo caption (from left to right): Dr. Paul Gasparro, Belmont College President; Cheryl Cassis; Robert “Scat” Scatterday, Associate Professor Emeritus; and Dr. Lorrinda Saxby, Heritage Tree award recipient.

St. Clairsville, OH (October 23, 2015) — In recognition of their dedication and commitment to the College, five individuals were awarded high honors at the October 22 Honors Reception held at Belmont College. 


“Our honorees were chosen in acknowledgement of their unique contributions and long history with Belmont College,” said Dr. Paul F. Gasparro, President. “They have all served in different capacities by devoting their time and excellent work to the College and our students.”


The Heritage Tree Award is presented to individuals who have helped shape Belmont College through their leadership efforts and steadfast dedication. A symbolic tree with gold leaves adorns a prominent spot in the College to showcase the names of the current honorees and those who previously received the distinction. Inductee’s names are etched on the tree as a permanent reminder of their individual commitment to the creation, growth and development of Belmont College’s heritage.


Receiving this distinguished award for devotion to the College was Dr. Lorrinda Saxby, of St. Clairsville, Ohio. Mrs. Elizabeth Gates, Board of Trustees Chairperson presented Dr. Saxby with her award.


“The Board of Trustees has chosen to honor Dr. Saxby, not only in recognition of her unique contributions to Belmont College, but also to the community in which we live,” said Mrs. Gates. “Dr. Saxby became a member of the Belmont College Board of Trustees in 2007 and has an impressive resume which includes numerous honors, organizational associations, publications, and notable presentations.”


Retired as Superintendent of St. Clairsville-Richland City Schools, Dr. Saxby earned a Doctorate from Miami University, a Master of Education Degree from Wright State University, and a Bachelor of Arts from Urbana University, as well as her Administrative Certification from the University of Dayton. Active in the community, she has served on the Board of Directors for the Tri-County Help Center, a Master Gardener Volunteer and former President of the St. Clairsville Rotary Club.


Additionally, the notable designation of Emeritus was bestowed upon four well-deserving individuals. The Emeritus designation is an honorary title given to retired faculty and staff in recognition of admirable service to the College and its students.


The following individuals were awarded with the Emeritus designation:


  • Associate Professor Emeritus – Mr. Marc Abraham, retired Associate Professor of Accounting. Abraham retired in March of 2012 with 30 years of service to the College. He is still active in his field and within the community serving on several Boards of Trustees for charitable organizations where he also contributes time and resources.


  • Associate Professor Emeritus – Mr. Robert “Scat” Scatterday, retired Associate Professor of Engineering. Scatterday retired in June of 2011 with 29 years of service to the College. He is a retired Vietnam Air Force major and currently serves as the Ogden Race Director,  an advocate for the Wheeling Heritage Trail and is very active in the community.


  • Professor Emeritus – Ms. Cheryl Cassis, retired Professor of Nursing. Cassis retired in May of 2015 with 36 years of service to the College. She served as Program Chair in addition to her teaching duties, as well as maintained currency in the field by serving as a textbook reviewer for numerous texts.


  • Professor Emeritus – Ms. Elaine McLeskey, retired Professor of Early Childhood Education. McLeskey retired in June of 2015 with 23 years of service to the College. She updated the Early Childhood Program for licensure before her retirement in 2015. Additionally, McLeskey received the Ray of Light award as nominated by her students at the 2015 college graduation.

A reception was held at the Main Campus location in St. Clairsville to celebrate the inductees.


# # # #